Call us now. Find out how we can help you.

Personal and responsive service to assertively defend your interests

Photo of attorney Laura Helmbrecht

Personal and responsive service to assertively defend your interests

  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » Alcohol Offenses

Alcohol Offenses: Not Just Drunk Driving

Alcohol offenses are not limited to drunk driving or DUI. In Ohio, a person can be charged for a wide range of criminal offenses involving alcohol — particularly when minors are involved. The sentencing can range from fines to time in jail.

Attorney Laura Helmbrecht is experienced in fighting these charges and helping individuals clear their records of these offenses. Do not wait to call us in Columbus, Ohio, today to fight an alcohol-related charge: 614-370-7897.

Under 21? Talk To A Lawyer About Your Rights And Options

In Ohio, it is a criminal offense for anyone under 21 to purchase or consume alcohol, with some significant exceptions. Minors under 21 may be served alcohol if a parent is present and consents. The minor can also consume alcohol for certain specific medical, educational or religious reasons. This includes communion wine.

A person who is under 21 and married to an of age individual can also drink alcohol with his or her spouse.

Underage drinking carries sentencing of up to six months in jail and fines up to $1,000.

Other offenses include:

  • Providing alcohol to a minor — An adult or social host could face up to six months in jail or fines of $1,000 for providing alcohol to an underage individual.
  • Fake ID — It is illegal to possess or use a fake driver’s license. You could face up to six months’ imprisonment or up to $1,000 in fines. There is a minimum fine of $250 for using a fake ID to obtain alcohol or enter an establishment serving alcohol. The person to whom the license belongs could lose his or her license for three years.
  • Open container — In the state of Ohio, it is illegal to have an open container of an alcoholic beverage in a car. Simply having an open container could result in a $100 fine. Consuming the alcohol in the vehicle could carry 30 days in jail and/or a $250 fine.
  • Drunk and disorderly conduct — Disorderly conduct while intoxicated is a minor misdemeanor and carries a maximum penalty of a $100 fine. This is charged when the person recklessly causes inconvenience, annoyance or alarm, such as disturbing the peace.

Please contact Laura Helmbrecht to schedule a consultation to discuss your case.